The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner of the Sunnyside Towers claims that it would be more lucrative to restrict the water flow to one-third of what it used to be for all twelve buildings of the Sunnyside towers complex, and presents several reasons to uphold his/her claim. However, the letter is rife with holes and assumptions and such mistakes should be eliminated in order for the owner to bolster his/her claim with warranted proofs. The flaws in the letter would be discussed with further details below.

First of all, the author of the letter maintains that there were few complaints about the low water pressure, so it would be okay to pursue the same alteration through other buildings. However, having few complaints doesn't necessarily indicate that the other residents who did not complain are satisfied with it. They simply could have moved out of the Sunnyside tower or are preparing to move out, without any complaints. Furthermore, the modification had been made for only a month, and there is a possibility that maybe that one month was from July to August, and the majority of the residents were out travelling or enjoying their vacation with other families who live elsewhere. If this is the case, there would not have been enough residents to experience the change and complain about it.

In addition, the owner of the complex assumes that restricting the water flow would always lead to residents using less amount of water. However, the residents might have been using the water for a longer duration than before because of the low water pressure. Due to this, the overall amount of water used might not have changed since the alteration, or worse, more water could have been used. He/she would have to provide actual readings of water usage in order to use this evidence to uphold his/her claim.

Lastly, the author of the letter believes that the first three buildings are representative enough of the other nine buildings. This of course is a clear flaw, because we cannot be certain that the other nine buildings' water usage pattern would turn out to be the same as the first three buildings. Even if the residents of the first three buildings were okay with the modification of the water pressure, this does not indicate that the residents of the other nine buildings would also be satisfied. Maybe after the alteration is complete throughout all twelve buildings, majority of the residents could be complaining about the low water pressure which can lead to them moving out of the complex or causing any bad happenings.

To sum up, even though the letter seems plausible, through thorough investigation and reading it from diverse perspectives, it is confirmed that the claim of the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex is unwarranted. In order for him/her to bolster the claim, he/she would have to eliminate the flaws of lack of information in his/her evidences and using unrepresentative data.