Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As technology advances and the idiosyncrasies of each individuals is accepted with more flexibility, the restricted status of having to be well mannered is deteriorating. However, people still tend to admire and respect those who are civilized and well acknowledged on manners. I believe that being educated on formal attitude actually enhances people to act with more free will instead of restraining them.

First of all, people show a tendency of being conducive to those who are well acknowledged to formal manners. This enables people who received formal education to easily control others and pursue their desires without being criticized. I would like to mention a particular person as an example, the son of the CEO of Samsung in South Korea. Even though he was already admired by many people for being the son of such a prestigious family, he was seriously educated with formal manners. While children from other similar families held tantrums and manipulated the rather laypersons, he showed respect to each individual regardless of their social status. Due to his manners, people showed susceptibility in trusting him, easily providing him the opportunity to seize whatever he wishes. While other children had to suffer from intense criticism and having to explain his/her reasons to why they had to behave in such way, the son was easily believed and people dare did not glance at him with dubiousness. Because he was well educated in formal manners, people easily trusted his will, giving him the power to act on his free will without being keenly criticized.

Furthermore, people have the propensity to shun those who are uneducated in formal manners due to the strong stereotype that such people tend to be rude and easily belies the truth, and should not be trusted. For example, there was a TV program where hiring executives in big companies in starred in and informed us about the types of people favor. They specifically mentioned that they do not prefer those who are ignorant to formal behaviors. They perceived such people to not being able to control their emotions and acting out of line when they should be collaborating with the society. Being able to restrict their emotions and showing respect to others was the key factor in hiring an employee. This shows that maybe people who are unacknowledged in formal education seems to be free, however this is just ephemeral and they are actually undercut from various opportunities in the long-term.

To sum up, people tend to favor and easily trust those who are educated in formal manners, which enables them to act on their free will. On the other hand, those who are uneducated on formality may seem like they are free minded but are actually restraining themselves from seizing various opportunities.