The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author claims that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase their profits even more dramatically. In order to bolster this claim author has put forward following evidences. One of them is after restricting maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be in the first three buildings. However, in the evidences provided by author there are lot of assumptions, flaws and illogical rationale he made to support the arguments. In order to support the argument author should go through several discussions below.

Firstly, can be conclusion be made on overall usage of water as water usage readings before and after the adjustment are unknown? The author here assumes that by reducing water flow for three building might have reduced overall usage for complex. However, it is possible that the consumption in the houses other than this might have been increased by a huge amount which could contribute to overall increase in water consumption. Even though if the overall consumption might have been decreased, it might be the case where at time of water flow restriction the residents of these three houses didn't use much of water because of less water usage at that time. It could also be possible that the residents of these three might be on a trip to some other city. Thus these type of questionable premises should be answered to strengthen the argument.

Secondly, will reducing water flow throughout all twelve buildings in Sunnyside towers complex contribute to reduced overall consumption? reducing waterflow doesn't guarantee reduction in overall consumption. For instance, since the water flow reduced people tend to spend more time under the shower as they feel that there is enough pressure to get remove foam on the body. This could lead to overall increase in the consumption of water which will again contribute to overall increase in the water expenses of Sunnside Towers.

Finally, is it reasonable to assume that prices of water doesn't increase each month? it is possible that water price may increase in coming months. Though the overall water consumption in Sunnyside towers is reduced, it may not guarantee the decrease in total expenses of water of Sunny side towers. For instance, let us take a case where a resident pay cent for every ounce they use. Let us assume that in the following month it was made 2 cents. Even though water consumption is reduced by one third, still the overall spend of water of complex is more this month than previous. Thus only decreasing water flow may not increase overall profits.

In a final summary, the argument is weak and unconvincing. Thus, the answers to above questions needs to answered in order to validate author's recommendations. However, report fails to answer these questions and as a result, the suggestion that restricting water flow in all twelve building in Sunnyside Towers will increase profits is dubious and as of now the authenticity of argument falls flat.