The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people

Nation is a group of people who are governed by the common leader. So, welfare of all the people in the nation should be a good yard stick to measure the greatness of the nation. The statement here asserts that the surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by general welfare of its people. I strongly disagree with this statement for the reasons discussed below.

Firstly, having a rich and prosperous artists, rulers, or scientist doesn't essentially mean that all the people in the nation are successful. These rulers may have rose to new hieghts of prosperousness because of rampant corruption in the nation by them. This rampant corruption will have a huge effect on the lives of common people in the nation. For instance, let us say that government started a new scheme in the health sector to lift up the health of all the people in the nation. If the leaders in the health sector are corrupted and collude with hospitals to make themselves rich then the benifits of this scheme started by government would never reach the end users which will result in failure of a health scheme. Thus, this example illustrates that even though the rulers got rich it may not have postive effect on the lives of the common people. Also, these rulers being rich doesn't essentially mean that all the people in the nation are rich.

Secondly, any nation having great scientits and inventions also doesn't essentially mean that the entire nation is great. Only when the inventions from this scientists are put into practice and made useful to people then these inventions would be of use. If the government couldn't make these inventions useful to people because of lack of funds then these inventions would of no use general people. Also these scientists may fly away to rich nation where they can make their inventions can be made useful to general welfare people. For instance, there is an Alpha country which has a lot of great scientists. These scientists have invented a new method of producing electricity in cost effective way. Even though method is cost efficient the government doesn't have enough funds to put this into use and provide electricity to all the people in the nation which can uplift the general welfare of all the people in the nation. These scientists would definitely get frustrated as their inventions are of no use in that nation. Thus, the above example clearly illustrates that having great scientists and inventions doesn't essentially make nation great until and unless these inventions are put into use to uplift the general welfare of people.

Some may argue there are some nations in which both people and scientists, artists, rulers are rich. Is this correlation true in each and every country? It may be true for some rich nations like United states but may not be true for all the nations in the world. Thus it is clear from the above reasons that having great achievements from rulers, artists doesn't essentially to general welfare of people.