The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people

A nation is a group of people who are governed by a common leader. So, the welfare of all the people in the nation should be a good yardstick to measure the greatness of the nation. The statement here asserts that the surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people. I strongly disagree with this statement for the reasons discussed below.

Firstly, having rich and prosperous artists, rulers, or scientists doesn't essentially mean that all the people in the nation are successful. These rulers may have risen to new heights of prosperity because of rampant corruption in the nation. This rampant corruption will have a huge effect on the lives of common people in the nation. For instance, let us say that the government started a new scheme in the health sector to lift up the health of all the people in the nation. If the leaders in the health sector are corrupted and collude with hospitals to make themselves rich then the benefits of this scheme started by the government would never reach the end-users which will result in the failure of a health scheme. Thus, this example illustrates that even though the rulers got rich it may not have a positive effect on the lives of the common people. Also, these rulers being rich doesn't essentially mean that all the people in the nation are rich.

Secondly, any nation having great scientists and inventions also doesn't essentially mean that the entire nation is great. Only when the inventions from these scientists are put into practice and made useful to people then these inventions would be of use. If the government couldn't make these inventions useful to people because of lack of funds then these inventions would be of no use to general people. Also, these scientists may fly away to a rich nation where they can make their inventions can be made useful to general welfare people. For instance, there is an Alpha country that has a lot of great scientists. These scientists have invented a new method of producing electricity in a cost-effective way. Even though the method is cost-efficient the government doesn't have enough funds to put this into use and provide electricity to all the people in the nation which can uplift the general welfare of all the people in the nation. These scientists would definitely get frustrated as their inventions are of no use in that nation. Thus, the above example clearly illustrates that having great scientists and inventions doesn't essentially make a nation great until and unless these inventions are put into use to uplift the general welfare of people.

Some may argue there are some nations in which both people and scientists, artists, rulers are rich. Is this correlation true in each and every country? It may be true for some rich nations like the United States but may not be true for all the nations in the world. Thus it is clear from the above reasons that having great achievements from rulers, artists don't essentially contribute to the general welfare of people.