It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Heroes are the people to whom we look up to and like whom we aspire to be. Usually, many of us have heroes in the respective fields that we work in or in the fields like acting. Every day we make endeavors to become like them one day. The prompt here asserts that it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero. I strongly disagree with this statement for two reasons.

Firstly, with the advent of the internet, it has become very easy for everyone to find their own heroes. In the pre-internet world, many people were not regarded as heroes as they didn't have enough exposure to people. For instance, let us take the case of a YouTuber who plays guitar spectacularly. The people who have access to youtube and are interested may start to follow him and may regard him as their hero for guitar playing. In the pre-internet world, no one would have known about him and he would have never become a hero. Thus this example illustrates that the possibility of considering someone as the hero has increased rapidly with the onset of the internet.

Secondly, people are in need of heroes now, more than at any other time because of complex lifestyles. This pushes everyone to find their own hero which will eventually contribute to more number of heroes in society. As heroes are the ones who have done some great things in their field, this will motivate us to keep up our spirits and try to make endeavors to be like them in this complex world. For instance, in the game of cricket roles of each player have become quite complex. There are different roles like fast bowling all arounder, left-arm fast bowling all-rounder. Since roles have become very complex, one will try to choose the hero of their type. The right-arm fast bowler may choose Kapil dev as a hero which will help them to learn a lot of things from them. Thus the complexities in the world are encouraging everyone to find their own heroes which are contributing to an overall increase of heroes in society.

To conclude, Some may argue that the advent of the internet has also destroyed the reputation of many heroes to the extent where they are no longer considered heroes. However, the same internet also contributed to the finding of more heroes than ever. And also use of extreme language in the statement like "any living man or woman" clearly contradicts the current world scenario where many people are being regarded as heroes. Thus overall, it has become more possible to regard more people as heroes in the current society.