A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Students of today are future of nation. It is very important that students are trained and educated well so that they can contribute to healthy growth of nation. So curriculum which helps to the growth of students also need to be chose meticulously. The statement given asserts that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I agree with this statement but along with that some flexiblity also needs to be given to schools to alter the curriculum. Here are the points that i would like to put out to support my stand.

Firstly, the curriculum should be same throughout all the schools in the nation so that it will be easy for the people who move across cities for jobs. It is possible an employee from one city to other because of job change. In this case if the curriculum of the schools in this new city entirely different then it would become very difficult for the students to cope up with new curriculum. For instance, let us say a employee moved from California to Texas for a new job. If the curriculum of Texas is entirely different from curriculum of California then it would be very difficult for the childre of this employee to cope up with new curriculum which they are not habituated to. Thus having same curriculum throughout the nation helps the students greatly.

Secondly, students are involved in very tight competition to get seats in good colleges. If the curriculum of one school is different from the other, it would be unfair on the student who is from school which doesn't have good curriculum and participating in the same competition to get the college seat. For instance, let us say there are two schools in texas where one school has curriculum that is carefully designed to crack these competitive exams and other school doesn't have that good curriculum. In this case the student from school having good curriculum will able to crack the exam easily as they were very well prepared for the very same exam over years. But the student from a school which doesn't have that good curriculum is left behind.

Thus having same curriculum throughout nation is important to avoid such unfairness.

At the same time, some flexibility should be given to the schools to make the curriculum interesting. Though there can be a restriction on syllabus that needs to be taught there shouldn't be any restrictions on the way the lessons are taught. The school should be able to make some changes so that it can make curriculum interesting to students. For instance, let us say that even though history syllabus is kept common for all the schools throughout the nation the flexibility should be given to schools where in they encourage the students to do some role plays which will make the subject interesting. This kind of flexibility will benifit the students immensly.

In the conclusion, it is true that having same curriculum throughout the nation will be benificial to students in many ways as discussed above but considerable amount of flexibility should also be offered to schools to make the curriculum interesting to students.