The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

In the letter of the owner it is stated that the Sunnyside Towers can be more lucrative if they install advanced showerheads in all the twelve buildings rather than just the first three. The conclusion is based on the fact that newer showerheads restrict the water flow to one-third of it's original value and hence save water. However before evaluating this decision three questions are needed to be answered.

Fist of all, The statement mentions about few complaints about low pressure which raises the question, do people in the building often use showers? What if the majority of the people just make do from the taps because of the fact that showerhead water does not supply enough water at one go. For instance a person who does not use a shower might still be using the same amount of water and since the statement mentions few complaints about showerheads this might mean majority does not use it and in that case there won't be any significant difference between the water usage and thus it weakens the argument.

Secondly, what if they are using the showerheads for longer duration or perhaps basically using the same or more amount of water? For example a person who consumes two litres of water while taking a shower might be consuming the same amount irrespective of the flow of water as the time duration for which he takes shower has increases three times to compensate the restricted flow. If such things happens there might not be any savings for the company hence the argument does not hold water.

Lastly, what if they use alternate sources of water as the showerheads does not supply enough pressure? One can use tap water or perhaps could buy a new showerhead which might increase the overall waster usage. For example a person can buy a showerhead which pumps 2 times the water the original showerhead used to pump which intern puts the company owner at loss. This certainly puts the argument at a disadvantage.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the owner is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence regarding the actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the the viability of the proposed recommendation.