The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore, an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author in the letter recommends the school board mandate students of Centerville high school to take the driver’s education course. The author uses some unwarranted assumptions to reach the recommendation. The school board should answer some questions regarding these assumptions to evaluate the recommendation accurately.

First of all, the author simply assumes that the accidents around Centerville, which involved teenage drivers, were due to the lack of driver’s skill of those teenagers. What if other factors play a significant role in those accidents? Was the road around Centerville safe to drive? Was there any external disruption such as running wild animals in the middle of the road? It’s possible that the teenagers were not responsible for those accidents. If the road condition was not suitable to drive, any driver despite their age or capability to drive could have been experienced the accident. Has the road become safer after these accidents? The school board should answer these questions before making a decision to mandate the driver’s course.

Moreover, in the letter, the author claims that the teenage drivers were involved in those accidents around Centerville. What if those teenagers are not the students of Centerville High school? In this case, the mandatory driver’s course would not help to instruct those teenagers how to drive better. Also, the author mentions that there are two driving schools in the town in which families with low income cannot afford to send their teenagers there. It’s possible that these families cannot afford to buy a car for their children as well. Are the teenage drivers from wealthy families? Do all the students of High school have a car to drive? It’s likely that the mandatory driver’s course would not be useful for all of the students of that school. Therefore, the recommendation mentioned in the letter would be invalid.

Finally, the author claims that the mandatory driver’s course sponsored by the high school is the only solution. This is a very extreme and absolute conclusion. What if students are not willing to attend the mandatory driver’s course? Are there any other solutions to that problem? Teenagers usually disobey mandatory tasks due to their age situations. Perhaps, they do not eager to spend their time taking driver’s course. The school board should use a survey and examine the students’ opinions about this mandatory course. Furthermore, it’s likely that DMV has considered a solution for this problem. The school board should ask DMV, or the police department and ask whether they are going to solve this problem. Answering these questions would help the school board to make a logical decision.

All in all, the original argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to the considerable lack of concrete evidence. The school board should answer the pointed questions to be able to evaluate the recommendation precisely.