The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore, an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that education course for drivers that Centerville High School provides is the only solution to accidents involving teenage drivers. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While connections suggested are reasonable, there are other possible scenarios that should discourage the authors claiming that the program is the only solution.

To begin with, the author assumes that education for teenage drivers will be effective to reduce accidents because several accidents had involved teenage drivers. Yet there is no reason to believe that decrease in accidents will be entailed by education. Usually, Education itself can not change much. We can see many smokers attending to quit-smoke programs but rarely see corresponding quit smokers. Likewise what we need to lower the accident rate are teenager's conscience and his/her ardor for being careful driver, not mandatory education. What is more, the author assumes that teenagers are culprits of the accidents. However, teenagers might be victim actually. There are many other factors that can cause the accidents. For instance, careless pedestrians, complex traffic, high-density of cars, etc may be reasons of accidents. Therefore we cannot conclude that decrease in accidents would be followed by providing education to teenagers.

Secondly, the author assumes that involved teenagers are residence in Centerville. Yet we cannot take it for granted that teenagers who are relating to accidents are living in Centerville just because accidents were happened at Centerville. They might live in other cities and just drive cars to Centerville. If most of the teenagers indeed are citizens of other neighboring cities, the education sponsored by the high school can not be effective and teenagers would be reluctant to attend the program.

Thirdly, the author assumes that the trend of accident occurred during last two years will last long. The author misses the possibility of change in driving environment or ratio of accidents that involved teenage drivers during last two years. For two years, the city might have better driving environment by constructing new traffic light and replacing the old roads. Or teenage drivers might be more circumspect than before because they noticed high ratio of accidents. Therefore we cannot rule out the possibility that the serious problem had been already solved.

Finally the author assumes that parents in the city are too busy to teach their teenagers because a number of parents have complained. However it is too hasty to generalize the parents as too busy people just because some of them have said so. Indeed, most of parents might have willingness to spare their time to make their child safe driver. Therefore we need more thorough information about parents in the city before concluding that all of them cannot spend time for providing an education.

To sum, the author's assumption that the serious problems could be solved only by program that is sponsored by local high school is logically flawed based on the above mentioned reasons. To strengthen his or her claim, the author should closely examine all the conditions and possible factors. In conclusion, the author's argument reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons or evidence.