The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

The author of the letter recommends a mandatory driver course to be implemented at Centerville High School to solve the conudrum of accidents involving teenage drivers. He further supports his recommendation by apportunating that parents are too occupied to teach their children to drive and lack the funds to afford driving classes for their children. However, in deriving his recommendation, the author has made three unwarranted specious assumptions that have to addressed before the school board decides whether to adopt the recommendation.

Firstly, the author assumes a lack of driving training is the cause of accidents involving teenage drivers. There are a myriad other possibilities that can lead to accidents involving teenage drivers, not just a lack of training. For example, teenagers can be so well-trained that they become complacent and believe their training skills will not be hamper if they drink and drive, leading to more accidents involving teenagers. A mandatory driving class will not solve the problem, instead if the cause of the accident is drunk driving, the appropriate policy might be to increase awareness of the dangers of drunk driving. Further, it could also be that other drivers caused the accident and coincidentally teenage drivers are involved. For example, there might be reckless truck drivers who fell asleep at the wheel and coincidentally impacted cars driven by teenagers. In such a case, a policy limiting hours of truck driving might be more germane. As such, until there is a closer examination of the actual cause of the accidents involving teenagers, a mandatory driving lesson may not be the most apt solution to resolve the issue of accidents involving teenagers.

Secondly, parents and driving schools are assumed to be the only source of driving education. And given that parents are busy and schools are expensive, the students have limited access to driving lessons. This is a myopic assumption which discounts other potential source of driving education. For example, a retired relative might have the requisite time and experience to impart driving skills. Further, there is also the most economical option of private freelance instructors, who can be just as skilled as instructors from driving schools, to choose as an option to educate teenagers on proper driving techniques. As such, given the myriad of other feasible options available, implementing a mandatory driving lesson which will incur significant costs to the school, may not be the appropriate policy to adopt.

Lastly, the author assumes that every family owns a car, as such driving lesson should be mandatory. However, families who are unable to afford driving lessons will likely be unable to afford a car. Further, even if a family can afford a car, they might not own one as they might not see the need for one. Given there is no car in the family, it defeats the purpose of learning driving skills. As such, a mandatory driving lesson might be too costly a solution whereby students who may not be driving will be imparted with unnecessary driving skills.

To sum it up, the solution recommended by the author will have to aptly address the above assumptions before the school board derives their final decision. As of now, the author's argument contains too many flawed reasoning and assumptions, such that the final recommendation does not hold water and requires further evaluation.