An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia – the scent of lavender flowers – has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

The study concludes that lavender is a panacea for insomnia and effects can be observed in a short time frame. The conclusion is based on a study that lasted three weeks, used lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room and thirty participants. There are myriad number of flaws in the study that could potentially invalidate the conclusion. There are three additional evidence required to ascertain the validity of the study's conclusion.

Firstly, the study should be conducted for a larger group of volunteers of 100 or more randomly selected from the population. The sample size of thirty is too small to conclusively determine the validity of the conclusion. In a small sample size, it is more likely for the probability of coincidence to occur. For example, these 30 volunteers might coincidentally all have a body physique which is more subsceptible to the scent of lavender so it is able to cure insomnia for them. However, this might not hold true for the vast majority who do not have such a physique. A lot sample size of 100 or more will provide a more representative sample size to minimize the possibility of a coincidence and conclusively determine the validity of an end result. Further, taking a random selection of the population would increase the rigor and representativeness of the study to assess the definitiviness of the study. Thus, until a study with larger sample size with a randomized participant pool is completed, the conclusion cannot be validated.

Secondly, the study should continue to observe the conditions of the patients after the third week. It concludes that lavender is a cure for insomnia on the basis of only one week of sound sleep, but one week of sound sleep might not be sufficient to declare that the lavender is the cure to insomnia. A cure means that the patient will no longer suffer from insomnia. For example, the effect observed could be a transient one that could wear off in the second week. In such a case, lavender only provides a transient ameliorating effect instead of a cure. Thus, further observations past the third week is required to ascertain whether lavender is the cure insomnia.

Thirdly, the study should be conducted against a placebo to determine whether it is the lavender that is resolving the insomnia and not a placebo effect. Placebo has been well-documented as being able to resolve a myraid of maladies. There is no definitive scientific theory but scientists have pegged it down to a self-fulling prophecy whereby patients feel they should get better after receiving treatment and this "feeling" led to their recovery regardless of the treatment. It could be possible that the patients subconsciously assume that lavender will cure their insomnia, which led to them eventually being cured. In such a case, any other treatment could have worked if the patient belives in the treatment option. Thus, without conducting a test against placebo, we cannot conclude if lavender indeed cure insomnia or it is just a placebo effect.

In conclusion, the study's conclusion could potentially be valid. However, further work as delinerated above have to be done to ensure that the conclusion from the study is a definitive one.