An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

The statement argues that the lavender-scented pillows are a solution of insomnia. It substantiates its assertion by showing an experiment held in a recent study. However, these study has several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore irrelevant for reasoning the assertion.

First, the study was held in 3 weeks with using lavender-scented pillows. However, there are some problems with this part. The ancient traditional remedy of insomnia used actual lavender scent. However, the study used only lavender scent pillow, which might not have been enough for the actual effect to be efficient. Moreover, the duration of 3 weeks is not enough for concluding the result of the study. There might be an effect of the weather that make insomnia. Furthermore, the study was held during the sleep. There might be some volunteer that had hard days resulting deep sleep during the night. This example can distort the experiment held during the 3 week study.

Second, the study changes the variables during the study. The first week let the volunteer take their medicine treatment. However, in the second week, it did not. The result of this differed during the experiment, however, cannot coroborate the assertion. Even with the lavender scent, there is no noticable difference between each week. Moreover, letting people to take their pills might effect the lavender scent. There is no clue that the lavender scent was actually the main factor of the enhancement of sleeping. There should be other comparison to make this experiment reasonable with the assertion. The experiment without the lavender-scented pillows are needed to compare the actual effect of this assumption.

Third, the experiment held between the second week and the third week, the difference was the time of lavender scent the volunteers were exposed. To make this part reasonable, there must be other experiments to be held. We do not know that the main reason for the success of this treatment. Maybe the medicine was the main reason for insomnia. Therefore, there must be a comparison experiment held with consistently having pills during the study. Moreover, the experiment of this study uses only lavender scent. However, there might be other possibility that the lavender might not be the only scent for curing insomnia. There is a probability that the scent of any flower can cure the insomnia. Therefore, another experiment should be held with different scent to prove that the lavender scent is the only scent that cure insomnia.

Overall, the experiment in this study has several flaws. Moreover, it overlooks other possible reason for curing insomnia. Therefore, without further experiments, the argument's experiment logically fails to substantiate the assertion.