The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the given letter, it argues that Centerville High School has to provide the driver’s education course to all of its students as it is the only feasible solution for the facing situations. However, it seems the argument is based on several stated or unstated assumptions, which might make it unreliable if at least one of those is not true.

Firstly, it might assume that those who are involved in teenagers’ car accidents are attending Centerville High School. However, perhaps there are 5 different high schools in Centerville, and actually, the teenage drivers who made the accidents might not go to Centerville High School. If then, the teenage drivers’ accidents are irrelevant to Centerville High School and the driver’s education cannot be helpful to achieve its goal, to reduce the car accidents by teenagers. Thus, if the assumption is false, the argument is weakened.

Secondly, it seems it postulates that the number of students who drive at Centerville is significant. Perhaps only a few of them are driving a car, then, many of those who are taking the driver’s education will be those who do not drive a car. Since the driver’s education is aiming for reducing car accidents by teenage drivers, if then, the argument cannot be considered as a great solution. Hence, if the postulation is unwarranted, the argument cannot hold water.

Thirdly, the argument is based on the unstated assumption that Centerville High School can afford the price of conducting the driver’s education for all its students. The high expense of driving schools might indicate that providing the driver’s education is expensive. If the expense is unaffordable to the high school, the assertation cannot be a feasible idea. Thus, if the assumption is wrong, the argument cannot be accepted.

To sum up, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the writer cannot provide proper evidence to prove its stated or unstated assumptions mentioned above are true, the argument will not be persuasive.