The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

The author asserted that there is a problem with the safety of teenage driving, due to several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenager drivers, to tackle it, the only way is by providing student mandatory driving program offered by high school. The author claimed that student’s parents are too busy to teach their teenagers, and the local driving schools are too expensive for families. Considering the information offered by the author, his/her assumptions seems plausible at the first glance, however, there is lack of details in the information that weaken the author’s view.

First, the author pointed out there are a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to take their Child to school. However, what is the exact percentage of the parents who complained in terms of the whole parents group? The author failed to provide this vital information. There is a possibility that it is only a very small percent of parents are complaining, and most of the parents are still balance their life well and are able to bring their teenagers to school. It might also be the situation that most of parents are not only taking their teenagers to school, they also objected to the idea that school should promote student driving by themselves, since it might take part of the study time out to invest on the driving program.If it is true, offering mandatory driving program, on the one hand will sacrifice valuable study resource, on the other hand will bring about the higher chance of teenagers driving by themselves. In this case, the author’s assertion will totally produce the opposite effects.

Second, the author describes the problems by say several accidents in t and around Centerville have involved teenager drivers, he/she dose not clear the fact whether it is the teenager in the accident is the one who should take responsibility for the accident, it could be the adult part who driving after drinking and hit the teen driver while teen driver did not escape the in coming car in time, if that is the case, then it should be the government’s responsibility to control post alcohol drinking behavior among adults instead of improving teenagers’ driving skill.

Thirdly, Even if the responsibility falls on the teenagers’ part in the accidents that happened the in past two years, it does not represent the tend will continue. There should be more research to evaluated the current teenagers driving skill and the percentage of teenagers who drive to school in terms of whole city, if the average teenager driving skill is poor and the percentage of them who normally drive by themselves to school is high, then it will be suitable for the author to say school need to implement measures to help student learn safe driving.

Over all, before scrutinizing detail information, the author is not able to support his assumptions and risk the chance of waste education funds and student time in driving programs.