"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author claims that in order to attract more listeners to their radio station, they should produce a different format of program, such as news and talk format to replace the current rock-music format. The author based on his recommendation on the evidence that the listeners are decline even the local population are growing, and the growing population is mainly composed of retired people, therefore the author deems that they should meet retirement group’s taste to make them as new listeners. At the first glance, the author’s statement seems plausible, however, more evidence are needed to help us assess the argument.

First of all, the author stated that the growing population are due to more retired people move into local area, he deems that the retirement people is the most population of this area. However, there are more evidence related to the local population needs to be offered to approve the author’s assumption. If there are evidence shows even there are increasing retired people moving into this city, the majority of the people are still young people who enjoy listening to rock-music, in this case, the author’s assumption weakened. On the contrary, if evidence shows that the retirement group is the leading group among the whole population, it is reasonable to say the author made correct judgement and changing the format of radio program according to the retired people is a wise decision.

Second of all, the author argues that the decline of local recorded music sales represented the downward trend of interests in music of local people. Move evidence are needed in terms to support the author’s analogy, if the evidence indicated that there are increasing in online downloading music while people are abandon the old-fashioned recorded music, it is clear that people are still having great interested in music and the reason behind less recorded music sale lying on the technology upgrading. Otherwise, if evidence shows that people are not seeking are forms of music at all, we may agree that people are losing interest to music and the author’s recommended might be right.

Thirdly, even if people are indifferent to music and the major population in the city are older folks, we can not grant that the author’s proposal of producing news and talk shows would attract more listeners. It could be the case that nowadays people are mostly spending time surfing online for entertainment, and radio program are generally less comprehensive and interested compare to computer where people not only can here voice but also can watching videos. If that is the case, no matter what format of program the station switch to, the listener number will still decreasing.

To sum up, the author believes that by changing the music program to news and talk program, the station will attract more listeners. After assess the evidence provided by him/her, the argument is fraught with flaws and more evidence are required for the assumptions to be established, such as details about the population structures, more research about whether people are interested about music, and whether people prefer radios compare with other medias. Without such evidence, it would be inaccurate for the author jumps into his conclusion.