The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

The author contends that efficacious and mandatory program supported by the high school is the sole resolution to a recent car accidents by teenagers. The author states that since the teenagers' parents are busy and on a tight budget to afford a program off-campus driving program, the Centerville school's driving education should be implemented. While supporting the argument, the author relies on assumptions that are not taken for granted. Thus, further evidence needs to be propounded and corroborated in order to validate the author's claim.

Firstly, the author assumes that numerous accidents have been continuously arising for the past two years. However, it may not be the case. For the past two years, several accidents involving driving by teenagers might have happened at one time of the period. It could be that there was a sudden increase of drivers due to a festival going on temporarily, that made the congestion of traffic, and increased the number of accidents. Except for this time, there could have been mere number of accidents regarding teenagers' driving. Therefore, further evidence pertaining to whether how many accidents have happened for every single month should be examined in order to let author contend that the increased number of accidents should be mitigated with the effort of high school having driving program.

Secondly, the writer gives the accident's fault towards teenagers only. There could have been other causation for the teenagers' driving accidents. It could be that the adults have been driving in a violent manner. Then, even with the help of the high school's driving education, since adults are not being re-educated, the number of accidents would not likely to be mitigated. As such, more detailed evidence of whom the accident should be giving fault to should be validated in order to make the author's claim more valid.

Lastly, the author falsely assumes that the high school driving program is more beneficial to the family of the teenagers compared to the privately held driving education program. The families of the teenagers, who are on a tight budget for the other two driving schools, could be suffering financially more if they let their kids be educated from the high school. The Centerville high school's program is not examined to be efficacious to lessen the number of accidents. Although it is less costly compared to the private education of driving, the high school program could be not effective and pertain the number of accidents of teenage driving or even make it more. Thus, the overall cost for the accident, subsuming the prevention of the accident, would be far more when taking the Centerville high school's program. Therefore, the quality of Centerville high school's education should be examined.

In summary, the author's statement cannot be supported as in its current form. Further evidence pertaining to the number of accidents arising for every month, whom to blame for the driving accident, and the quality of the high school's education is crucial in determining the validity of the claim.