The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville."All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years several accidents in and around Centerville have inv

The author attempts to propose a solution to the issue of teen driving safety, but makes many erroneous assumptions that undercut the power of their argument. The first of such assumptions appears in the statement that “several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers.” Notice that the term several is highly ambiguous - what percentage of teen drivers are causing accidents? Is this higher or lower than the percentage of adult drivers causing accidents? If the difference is not statistically significant, then the motivation for the development of a driving course is completely derailed. The author goes on to use evidence about “a number” of parents making complaints, which suffers from the same statistical ambiguity and subsequently diminishing the preciseness of the argument.

Another logical problem is the fact that the author simply mentions that the accidents occur “in or around Centerville” - she never states that these accidents are perpetrated by Centerville residents. It’s very possible that the driving accidents are caused by people from neighboring communities or tourists from completely different places. In the case that this is true, the city would not be able to improve the driving safety of these visiting drivers through a high school program.

The author writes the extremely bold thesis that a mandatory high school program is the only solution to the teen driving safety problem. This statement is quite one-sided, not taking into account the perspectives of students who do have adequate driving instruction outside of school, forcing them to take a class from which they reap no benefits. More importantly, the author fails to even consider competing strategies which might also help to solve the problem. Creating an elective high school course, finding community volunteers who are willing to instruct driving, and offering a driving instruction fee reduction for students on a budget are all valid alternative paths that the city of Centerville might want to consider. Without any acknowledgement of alternative solutions, the author misses a useful opportunity to highlight the strengths of her proposal over the alternatives.