133. In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the posit

Whether we consider educational reforms allowing diverse populations to gain access to education, political changes empowering the formerly powerless to speak their ideas, or a push for technological companies to solve social issues, it is apparent that enterprises are innovating and changing all the time. How they enact that change through choice of leadership is an interesting subject of debate.

I agree with the claim that top-level leaders should step down after a fixed term of five years. Sometimes in companies where the executives have remained too long, outside perspectives and new voices are needed to break away from the old ways and adapt to the changing industry. Microsoft, for example, suffered from economic and technological irrelevance for decades before bringing on Sadya Natella as their CEO. Under Natella’s leadership, Microsoft shifted their focus towards cloud computing and open source, breaking away from their traditional Windows products. Additionally, from the point of view of the leaders themselves, regular changes in leadership ensure that they develop experience in other companies or settings, allowing them to diversify their skills instead of becoming stuck in one position.

We can turn to the US government as an institution that has fixed terms for leadership roles in the congressional and executive branches, preventing individuals from staying in power for too long. This way, if an executive breaks their trust with their representatives and doesn’t deliver on their platform, voters have the agency to choose a better candidate. Holding regular and frequent elections ensures that there will be people in power who can understand and advocate for the issues of younger generations.

Of course, there are cases when leadership extending beyond five years is still successful. In the cases of startups like Lyft, the founders continue on the executive board for over a decade, driving the company forward with the passion and experience born out of founding the company. Here, the commitment of the Lyft leaders to their cause of improving transportation outweighs the benefits of bringing in new leadership to drive innovation.

From the examples in tech and government, we see strong evidence that changes in leadership produce stronger results and makes sure that the institutions adapt to the changing time and needs of their audience.