A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

While the idea of formulating a standard national curriculum sounds like a convenient and practical idea to promote a well-rounded education, there are too many disadvantages to this strategy to consider.

Having a standard national curriculum prevents students from pursuing more specialized training that is tailored to their needs and interests. For example, some students interested in pursuing art or music would benefit greatly from an art-intensive program that allows them more time to pursue their craft. Students who are looking to pursue a specific job can get vocational training starting in high school to develop their skillsets. Additionally, students may be interested in attending a school that focuses on a specific language or religion, to foster cross-cultural ways of thinking.

Another disadvantage to a national curriculum is the lack of flexiblity to accomodate students of varying abilities. By putting everyone through the same curriculum regardless of their aptitude, the system would be discouraging faster learners who have the ability to take more advanced courses, and doing a disservice for students who are slower learners or have special needs. Rather than leaving some students bored and others struggling with the material, the curriculum can be differentiated to better fit students. A curriculum that caters towards the so-called "average" student doesn't have the flexibility needed to serve the educational needs of students on either side of the bell curve.

With that taken, there are benefits to be seen from setting some national requirements for what the curriculum must provide. No matter if a student is convinced that they want to be a musician or electrician, their interest shouldn't preclude them obtaining a broad general education in subjects not directly relevant to their future careers. Such core subjects like English, math, history, government, and science should, without a doubt, be included in school curriculums. The key point here is to make sure that the curriculum satisfies the basic prerequisites, while allowing students with special interests and needs to receive training adequate to what they want to do beyond high school. Instead of lazily setting a standard for everyone to follow mindlessly, the work here is on leaders to figure out how much flexiblity to cede to individual states and schools, while maintaining a standard base of education that everyone receives.