Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with

The business memorandum makes an attempt to argue for restoring air time for local news and weather, but lacks concrete evidence to justify such a proposed change.

First of all, are the complaints specifically about the lack of local news and weather coverage? It's not clearly stated that this is the case - for all we know, the complaints may be about the inaccuracy or bias of the station's coverage, or even about too much coverage of these topics. Without a clear indication, the complaints shouldn't factor into the decision for airtime distribution.

The manager goes on to mention that local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts, but there is no confirmation that this decrease is caused by the decrease in local news coverage. The cancellations in advertising may be correlated with an economic downshift in local businesses, or a variety of other reasons that are not affected by the news station's activities. If that is the case, then spending more time on weather and local news would do nothing for advertising revenue.

Finally, the manager states the station wants to attract more viewers and avoid losing advertising money, but doesn't quantify how much advertising money they've lost or how many viewers they currently have versus how much they want to have. Is the station is a budgetary crisis and desperately needs to increase their numbers? We don't know why the program decided to spend more time on national news - perhaps that was in accordance to some agenda to increase awareness of what is going on in the rest of the country, and perhaps this mission is more important to the station than the temporary decreases in viewership and revenue. Without knowledge of the station's financial status or their broader goal, the conclusion reached by the manager is not adequately justified.