The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide

whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According the memo, the company has been producing a very low price breakfast cereal which has attracted customer from other top selling cereal companies. It also states that the company is still making profit without raising their price and wishing to expand their business by producing other low-priced products. However, I think the given memo is full of fallacy and information provided is not sufficient to make any decision regarding business expansion.

Here, the company has assumed that the introduction of their new low price breakfast cereals has drew many customers away from the top-selling companies. However, without any deep study regarding the other company product, they cannot assume that their new product and the low cost has cause the shift in customer. The reason can be the poor quality of the breakfast cereal produced by top-selling company or boredom caused by the continuous consumption of same flavor of the other company. So, the company should conduct detail study regarding the cause. If the low price is not cause then the change in flavor by other company can drew their customer back.

Similarly, they have also mentioned that the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with them by lowering their prices and their several plan to introduce their own budget brands has not worked. Here, they have not addressed about any marketing strategy of other company. They might have been focusing their budget on marketing and advertising with lowering the price of their products. The marketing strategy by big companies might attract more consumer resulting in low sale of their product in further days. So they should keep detail information regarding the marketing plan of other company and improve theirs for matching the sales in future.

At last, they are planning for production of other low cost product based on the success of their present product. But for doing so, they need to study about the need of people and their economic status. In future people might shift their interest to high price product due to increase in their economic status. This will lead to decrease in their customer for all type of low cost products. So before deciding anything they have to study the social and economic life of people and country. By addressing all above issue, they can make their decision of whether producing other low cost products or increasing the cost of present low cost product.