The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"It is time for the city of Grandview to stop funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. It is true that the symphony struggled financially for many years, but last year private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. In addition, the symphony has just announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. For these reasons, we recommend that the city eliminate funding for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra from next year's budget. We predict that the symphony will flourish in the years to come even without funding from the city."

Grounding on the increased private contribution, doubled attendance of symphony's series and higher ticket prices in the coming year, the budget planner comes to a conclusion that Grandview Symphony Orchestra do not need further funding from the government since it will no longer face financial problem. However, to make this argument more convincing, several questions want answers.

To begin with, by citing the contribution record last year, the author stated that the private donation was enough or can sustain for some time. Admittedly, that big amount of donation may serve a crucial role in solving the Symphony Orchestra's financial problem, no sufficient evidence is given to show whether the donation will be continued or how much is enough. It is possible that the private contributor did not want to see the orchestra go bankruptcy last year, and the amount of money was just enough to made end meets. Funding from the government is still necessary and urgent.

Furthermore, the author also says that increased revenue can be expected from more attendance at the orchestra’s concerts-in-the-park series last year. However, record from last year is far from a sound evidence to predict a positive trend of attendance this year. Perhaps the government has helped advertising the orchestra last year to prevent its closing down. Or, maybe the orchestra cooperated with another famous one to produced attractive programs last year. More details are needed to answer the question of why the attendance increased last year in order to make the assumption more compelling.

On the other hand, the approach of increasing ticket price can be a two-edged weapon. It is true that it will bring more revenue if the audiences accept to pay more money for the same show, but there is a good chance that the audiences simply choose to attend other cheaper performance. Before making the ticket price higher, the company may need to ask how current audiences think about their price for preventing a dramatic loss of customers.

In conclusion, the decision of not funding the orchestra may be a risky one based on current assumptions. The author needs to answer the above questions to strengthen the argument.