College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The true purpose for college students to receive education remains a heated debate. Opinions are divided over whether students should choose their majors led by interests or based on lucrative reasons. In my opinion, there is no correct answer to this one since every student need to seriously weigh the pros and cons before any decision is made.

It is generally believed that most students expect jobs with high incomes after graduating from college, and thus it is easy to understand why students are recommended to choose their majors based on the anticipated opportunities of jobs. People need to earn money in order to make a living. Especially for ones who have the responsibilities to take care of the family, financial burden will indeed be a practical factor when considering what to study.

Nevertheless, disagreement drew upon this issue states that choosing what to do will be a life-long accompany. If we decide our future work based on the earnings rather than our interests, we are more likely to burn out in the long run as we need to spend nearly half of our lifetime on work, not to mention the lack of motivation during studying. I believe that the main purpose of the education is to help students build fundamental knowledge structure and further develop specialization based on their advantages and interests. Through this way, students mastering in different areas can contribute meaningfully to the society and get happiness and satisfaction in return.

In addition, the argument has missed an important point that we are living in an ever-changing world nowadays. Majors now lead to a variety of jobs may not hold true in the future. Take the development of artificial intelligence for example; it has already let machines replace many human resources. It is difficult and hardly reliable to predict the future job market. Hence, choosing majors based on students' interest have its own merits. After all, persistence and dedication are believed to lead to fruitful results in almost every field.

In conclusion, while job availability can be an influential factor while deciding a major, I think careful evaluation of various aspects of this issue is required so that the decision will not be a regretful one.