People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Forces that influence people's behaviors can be divided into two categories, external and internal one. The statement implies that the external forces play predominant roles on human's behaviors. However, in my opinion, both external and internal forces walk hand-in-hand in shaping our behaviors.

To begin with, we are told how to behave as well-educated persons since we are children. Our parents taught us to differentiate right from wrong in order to let us fit in the society. Teachers at school helped us to build fundamental knowledge and skills to prepare us for benefiting the society after growing up. Media and internet promulgate ideas and trend that the public appreciate and agree with. If our behavior deviates from what commonly acknowledged as normal or good, we are likely to be corrected or even scolded seriously. Moreover, laws and regulations are legislated to prevent harm from malfeasance, crimes or other wrongdoings. Generally speaking, people's behaviors are indeed regulated under these external forces.

However, besides external forces, we cannot ignore that internal forces are also of vital importance. For instances, although most of the food producers manufacture and sell their product in a legal way, we can still find tainted food from time to time. Merely through external forces such as laws, we cannot prevent dishonest people from trying to get around the rules. Another example is that when we go hiking, we see sometimes litter in the protected mountain area even if littering is prohibited. Whether people decide to throw garbage or not when there is no one around depends mainly on their internal thoughts and personal decision.

In addition, charity works and volunteering are admired by the public because they are done self-motivated without lucrative incentives. For example, Mother Teresa devoted her whole life saving and helping those in need without someone asking or forcing her to do so. Although she grew up in a quite wealth family far away from India, it is her internal sound that makes her forgo all her privileges and choose stand with the poor.

In the final analysis, statement argues that people's behaviors are mainly influenced by external forces may have overlook the importance of the internal forces. To merely emphasize either one is one-sided since both of them help to shape human behaviors.