The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Grounding on the weather forecast and many newly built home, the author of this letter supposes that the demand of heating oil will grow steadily in the coming years in the northeastern United States. Then by synthesizing the hypotheses that the need of heating oil will represent on the revenue of Consolidated Industries, the author accordingly suggests that the investment in this company will be profitable. However, the argument rests on several unwarranted assumptions and therefore is unpersuasive as it stands.

To begin with, citing the temperature records in the past three months and the predication of future climate made by the forecaster, the author asserts that the weather pattern is likely to be continued. This may be true. However, it is difficult and hardly reliable to make a long-term predication simply based on the record of last year. Even talking about the weather tomorrow, weather forecast can change dramatically, not to mention the weather years after. To make the assumption more convincing, hard numbers and rigorous statistics of the past weather are required before predicting any trend.

Furthermore, the statement mentioned that newly built houses are likely to add on the demand of the heating oil. In fact, this assumption is based on that people still use heating oil to combat coldness in today's life. While it is possible that this tradition passes on in the northeastern area, newly built home may choose heating facility that is more energy-efficient and environmental friendly. If this scenario is true, the demand of heating oil may drop dramatically after the people of the old house notice the benefit of applying new technology. Hence, more information of the new house is needed to strengthen the argument.

After all, it is generally accepted that investing in a single company is risky and not recommended. We need to ask why Consolidated was specifically recommended. Does this company have other business that is in the red? Does the company perform best comparing to its competitors? Is it likely to stay the course over the next decade or so? Oil prices fluctuate frequently with the global economy, so does the profit of the oil company. The author fails to provide more details of Consolidated Industries to make the investment suggestion compelling.

In the final analysis, unless the author provide more evidence to substantiate these assumptions, the investment is likely to be a risky one.