The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the letter concluded that the demand for heating oil will increase in the future and he suggested to invest in Consolidated industries, as one of the major business operation of these firms is to retail sale of home heating oil. In making his conclusion, he presented the following as evidence: the region experienced a90 days below- normal temperatures and it is likely to continue for several years according to the forecasts made by the meteorological experts, and the increased housing because of population growth. However, the author’s assumptions are flawed for three reasons.

First of all, the author’s conclusion is based on a mere prediction of climate experts, and we all know that climate is unpredictable and it tend to change over time. Moreover, global warming can drastically change the weather and climate of a certain are. For example, the area mentioned in the prompt could be affected by climate change and transformed into an area where winter will be too short and temperature will be manageable, which will inevitably abolished the need for heating the houses. If this is true, then it will at best weaken the author’s argument.

Secondly, even if the climate forecasts are true, how can we determine the number of years? It could remain for one year, two year or even for decades. For example, if the trend continues for only one or two years, it will be a loss project if a huge investment is made. On the other hand, if it the trend is going to continue for a decade, the firm might earn some profit. However, to make any investment based on this dichotomy will be unwise. Therefore, the firm need to observe the situation for some years and then it should decide whether to make investment or not.

Finally, the author speculated that the new housing will also use home heating oil for maintaining warm temperature in the winter. But what if they focus on more sophisticated technology for heating their home. For example, their home may be equipped with electric room heater. Even, some may use ancient system of burning wood for increasing the temperature. In either of the case, the demand for home heating oil will not rise. Therefore, the assumption of the author is proven wrong.

To sum up, it can be said that the author’s conclusion is based on some unwarranted assumption and the arguments as they stand now is flawed. The author needs to clarify the aforementioned issues before making any extrapolation.