Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal.

tudents are taught in various ways across the world and there are several curricula and method existing in different countries. Among them lecture-based instruction is very common and students are required to do some group task almost in every education system, however the amount is small compared to lecture-based instruction. I firmly agree the significance of group work in a students learning life at the same time I believe that lecture-based instruction is equally important. Therefore, the amount of group assignments or tasks should be increased in proportion to lecture-based instruction.

First of all, lecture based instructions are equipped the students with some theoretical knowledge and to grasp the concept of any subject a student needs to do it practically. Here comes group assignments, in a group a student can implement what he or she have learned in class, at the same time they came to know each other’s view about that concept. Therefore, they are enabling themselves of sharing knowledge which is very essential and one of the main purposes of education. And indeed, this is a feature that a solely lecture-based instruction lacks while teaching the students.

Secondly, when a lecture is given it is not impossible that different student take the interpretation differently. For example, a teacher may imply something negative but a student can take that as positive. This types of misconception can only be removed by group task since every member of the group must come to a common point to accomplish their task. Therefore any vague explanation or any gap in learning can be overcome by group assignments. This type of misconception can hardly be overcome by traditional method since the students are often fear to share their own view with their instructors, especially in the third world countries where education system is full of loopholes and flaws.

Finally, as a group will be consists of different members, it is obvious that the views of the members will be different. As a result of that it is not impossible to come to a point of discord with peers. However, the aim of a group task is to remove this disagreement by analyzing the situation from different perspectives, which in turn would make a student more patient and would help to create harmony. This type of skill is necessary in a world marked by chaos and disorder. Therefore, when a student will go for a job or will start his or her own business, they will have the ability to solve this kind of problems, and it is also an aim of education.

To sum up, it can be assert that considering the significance of group task, it should be increased for the betterment and greater benefit of the students and society as well. However, that does not imply that the lecture-based instruction should be fully replaced, rather group task should be increased in proportion to lecture and the tasks should be based on the class lecture, otherwise it will not be fruitful.