The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria.

"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter, the author concludes that the preservation of the beaches and buildings will improve the condition of Tria’s tourist industry in the long term. In making his conclusion, the author assumes that by charging the tourist he can raise money for replenishing sand, which he thinks will be enough for protecting the buildings along the Tria’s shore as it helped to protect those of Batia’s. However, the author’s argument is flawed for three reasons.

First of all, the author assumed that if they charge the tourists, only a few of them will be annoyed for a short time. But it may not be true. Moreover, the additional charge could discourage an immense number of tourists to visit Tria, thereby making the condition worse than ever. Similarly, if lesser people visit Tria, the estimated fund will not be collected for the desired solution stated by the author. If this is true, then the author’s argument is weakened.

Secondly, the author presumed the problem of Batia’s similar to that of Tria’s. However, it might not be the case. The buildings of Batia’s might be facing other problems than erosion, which were solved by replenishing sand. However, replenishing sand may not help to protect the buildings of Tria’s. This explanation only helps to prove that the argument of the author is flawed.

Finally, the author presented the buildings as the reason for tourists’ attraction, and if the buildings are destroyed, tourists will not come. But it may also be a false assumption, and tourists may be attracted by the beach and natural elements of Tria. Therefore it is necessary to protect the beach, not the buildings to stop tourists to go elsewhere. And, if this is the case, it is only weakening the argument of the author.

To sum up, it is evident that the author's argument is flawed and based on some unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, the author needs to remove the flaws by studying the problem and possible solutions with more reliable data to make his conclusion pristine.