The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria.

"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria surmises that people should be charged for using the beaches so that the raised money could be utilized in protecting the buildings on the nearby island fo Batia as to promote tourism industry in Tria. The author of this letter asserted this based on the erosion of beach sand along the shores of the island which became a threat to the tourism industry in Tria. However, the author's argument is rife with unwarranted assumptions and significantly lack in persuasiveness for ensuing reasons.

First of all, the author presumes that the erosion of beach sand along the shore of Tria was a threat to the tourism industry. However, without understanding the factors that tourists are attracted to Tria, it is not sagacious to discern that the erosion of beach sand will be deleterious to tourism. While it may be true that erosion can indeed diminish the beauty of the beach and is not good for sustainibility of tourism, it is highly likely that tourists are instead attracted to the lifestyle of Tria -- perhaps they want to experience the unique culture and societal activites in Tria and not to enjoy the beaches. It is also possible that the troutists are more intrigued in tasting the diverse food items present around the island instead of spending their time in the beaches. Therefore, before charging the people on the basis of eroding beach sands, it is of utmost importance to analyse the influencing factors and focus on them to make their tourism industry flourish. If these scenarios are true, the argument stated by the author is significantly flawed.

Furthermore, the author asserts that protecting the buildings on the nearby island of Batia will ensure that the erosion of beach sand in Tria is prevented and will reduce the risk of damage from storms. This assertion of the author is however unconvincing and lack enough evidence to support that the buildings in nearby island of Batia has an influence on the erosion of beach sands in Tria. It is highly likely that protecting the buildings of Batia will mitigate the damage from storms and replenish the sand as well, but not in Tria. On one hand, the mitigating actions taken in Batia might not be enough to sustain the sands in the beaches of Tria while, on the other hand, the tourists might be more attracted to Batia instead of Tria. Therefore, the author's suggestion of protecting the buildings in Batia warrents concrete evidence of the correlation between the buildings of Batia and the beaches in Tria. Given these facts to be considered, the author's argument doesn't hold water.

Finally, the author assumes that chargin money would merely irk the people in the short term while it will bring benefits in the long term. If the local people who are actively involved in tourism industry are charged they may be upset and might decide to go for other businesses as well; even other people who are not involved may not cooperate with the authorities as they used to. As stated above, tourists may be attracted to the island of Tria, not only for the beaches, but for the exquisite foods and unique cultural lifestyle of the popel as well. It is inevitable that the people upset due to charges for replenishing the beach sand might not be as enthusiastic in tourism industry as they used to be. Rash decisions without proper consultation with people and stakeholders might have serious repercussions on the very tourism industry for which they are intending to charge the money to the people. Therefore, it is crucial to understand the concerns of people and all the stakeholders of tourism industry in the island of Tria before such important decisions are made. In such circumnstances, the author's argument of chargin money to people is based on a false assumption that people will be annoyed for the short tems only, thereby weakening the cogency of the argument significantly.

In conclusion, as it stands now, the argument is based on several unwarranted assumptions and is not persuasive enough to support the author's assertion. The island of Batia might have some influence on the tourism industry of Tria, but it might not be so great as to affect the beach sand erosion. The gist of the issue requires a thorough and scientific study to truly analyze the myriad of factors that could play a role in affecting the beach sand erosion in the island of Tria. Without understanding the concerns of people and all the stakeholders, it is not wise to charge people money and a rigorous study on the factors affecting the tourism industry in the island of Tria would ensure that the decisions made are indeed beneficial for the industry.