The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria. "Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the very first statement of the letter the issue of sand erosion along beach shore is mentioned. The sender however has also suggested a suggestion, provided a reason for that suggestion derived a conclusion. However, many important questions and doubts are still unanswered after evaluating the letter send to the tourism bureau.

To begin with, no information in regards to erosion was provided. At what rate is the erosion damaging beaches? What are the prime reasons for it? Estimate of damage caused? Nothing, no background knowledge is provided here. One might even question that is the issue worth raising due to lack of valid reasons.

If we consider that maybe, the issue is of grave importance, is the solution valid? The writer suggests that imposing of charges on usage of beaches as a solution. No insights were subjected here. It said it would help in raising money for the aforementioned cause and prove to be beneficial in future, but it was just an assumption with no grounds to establish it's position. What if annoyed by the charges, tourist shift there destined location? Is it worth the risk? And if it is worth the risk then numbers, financial experts, analytics, evidences, past experiences, future consequences should have been present.

Next, the money supposed to be collected would be used in filling up the sand and this in return would preserve the beaches and buildings of the local area. Again, just a plethora of assumptions and no evidence. Would it have a reverse ecological effect? Statistics and analytics to guarantee positive outcome and lesser erosion? Financial reasons to consider the solution? Success status of 'replenishing of sand' project in islands of Batia? Frequency of 'severe storms' and their effects on local buildings? Again, there is an absences of reasoning and no reliable information is provided.

The sender of the letter has reached conclusions based on vague thinking. Maybe it is the most apt solution for the alarming erosions in island of Tria but the letter does not help in making a strong argument for it. For a topic which concerns tourism, economy and ecology - theories don't work as one needs solid reasons to undertake major implications.