The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Grounding on the report of few complaints from the customers and synthesizing the hypotheses that customers either being unaware or do not care what they actually received, the author accordingly suggests that copying the strategy of replacing butter by margarine over other places will bring the company more profit. However, to assess the efficacy of the claim, several questions want answers.

To begin with, 2 percent of customers complained do not entirely translate into 98 percent of satisfaction. Although it may be true, the author should consider the possibility that the customers just do not want to waste any time on complaining with the company. They simply walk away as soon as they feel disappointed with the products. In addition, questions are raised of how the poll was conducted and who responded to the survey. Is the report representative of the general customers? Is the result reliable? We need hard numbers and rigorous statistics to strengthen the assumption.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the customers either do not have the intellect to distinguish the differences or they accept both products for their similarity. It is a bold and reckless assumption basing on the judgement of customers' wisdom. What if most of the customers are specialize in bakery and they choose Happy Pancake House restaurants because they believe in their qualities? If this scenario is true, it will not only cause a great loss but a long-term negative impression among bakers. In fact, the author has overlooks the ramification of being a dishonest seller.

What's more, given that this approach is feasible in one place, it does not mean that it is acceptable in other places as well. A question related to this is whether margarine is likely to continue to be cheaper than butter in the foreseeable future. Local tastes may vary and customer’s responses to the substitution may not be the same as well. More information about residents in the Southeast and the Northeast is required to answer the above questions.

In conclusion, several questions needed to be answered in order to make the argument more convincing. Otherwise, it will turn out to be a terrible marketing plan for Happy Pancake House restaurants and is likely lead to business failure as customer’s confidence is of vital importance when running a company.