People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Decisions are made every single day. Since people are constantly influenced by both emotion subjectively and logic objectively. There is a heated debate over whether a decision made based on emotion rather than logic is an improper one. In my point of view, emotion can be as vital and effective as logic as long as it is wielded wisely.

To begin with, we are taught to make decisions under careful consideration since we are children. Otherwise, the decision will be a regretful one. Through thinking logically, we can tell the pros and cons of a decision and then choose one that its merits outweigh its drawbacks. Thus, it is understandable why parents and teachers encourage us to think more before deciding impulsively. On the contrary, we can see the negative ramification of making decision on emotion. Looking back on the history, some leaders waged war because they felt angry toward the enemy, but the result turned out to be that people of the nation suffered from lack of foods and resources. Likewise, some leaders asked their people to build an opulent palace for his or her personal desire and thus lead to stagnation of the country’s improvement.

However, the statement tends to overlook that emotion, if managed properly, is an effective tool to persuade or even make a change on others. In the past, many successful leaders perfectly demonstrate that leading through emotion can be positive. For example, Martin Luther king successfully made human rights equal and made a fundamental change to American society. Obviously, he started the protest not based on logical planning, but an emotion to try to fight against the injustice. In fact, it was his strong determination and motivated ideals that galvanize the public to stand with him.

Furthermore, inventions and innovations often developed based on inspiring emotion first rather than a logic theory. For instance, Wright bothers got inspired by birds and dreamed of flying like them. Admittedly, without basic and logical technological knowledge, they would not make a plane. Still, the thought of flying is generally considered as the major cause for them to make flying as a bird comes true because they did not even know if the mechanical logic is feasible in a flying machine.

In the final analysis, emotion and logic walk hand-in-hand in shaping a good decision. Depending on either one of them is one-sided and will not draw the biggest benefit from every circumstance.