The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Controversy over whether citizen’s well-being being the best measurement of a leader is waged meaningful argument on both sides. While there is no doubt that a country exists for the welfare of its people, the conflict is centered on whether the effectiveness of the leader can be evaluated by this single aspect. In my point of view, although an effective leader is likely to lead a prosperous nation with happy citizen, this is not a definite causal relationship.

When we speak of reaching the well-being of the public, the following aims come to mind: safety and security towards military invasion, individual autonomy and freedom, sound health care and welfare system, cultural richness and overall comfort. Generally, people expect their leaders to bring these aims into fruition effectively. In recent COVID-19 pandemic, Taiwan is viewed to be one of the happiest countries. We have sufficient medical resources, clear regulations and reliable communication platform between government and people, thus results in low infectious rate. Indeed, effectiveness of the leader plays a central role in successful disease’s control.

Nevertheless, an effective leader does not always lead to people's happiness since that well-being is such an objective feeling. For example, higher suicide rates are noted in countries of Northern Europe. For that they possess incomes above average, high educational level and sound welfare system, it is hard to image their unhappiness. In fact, according to the studies, it is partly attributes to the lack of serotonin resulted from less sunshine. Therefore, it is unpersuasive to say that the leaders are not effective simply based on high suicide rate.

Moreover, a North Korean leader, Kim Jong-Li, is famous for his effectiveness. He not only implement strict rules to uniform the whole country but also demonstrate his ambitions by unremitting development of nuclear power. However, we see that many people are struggling for the basic needs of survival, and the development is stagnant due to the inhibition of creativity and different thoughts. Consider other leaders such as Hitler or Starlin, whom most people would recognize as effective and powerful as well. They only represent personal great personal success, but contribute little to the general welfare. Dictatorship, being a form of leadership, actually has led many countries to their economic downfall and debased the quality of life of the citizens.

In conclusion, evaluating the effectiveness of a leader mainly depends on the well-being of the citizens is one-sided. On one hand, many factors influence people's well-being. On the other hand, if an effective leader focus more on personal achievement rather general welfare of the public, people’s well-being will not be guaranteed.