In any profession — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

The statement suggests that leaders should take turns regularly in all fields by giving an exact time of five years. However, in my point of view, whether the benefit of changing leaders from time to time outweigh the drawback should be considered case-by-case.

In the democratic society, people are used to having elections on a regular basis. Election acts as an effective tool for people to supervise their leader. Even if the leader wins the election, it does not guarantee the next winning. Unless the leader work hard to represent the public's opinion, strive to make the great profit out of the society and keep improving the general welfare, people will consider to offer the next five years to the leader.

On the other hand, teachers and professors of great contributions seems to be those who devote years of life into their professions. No one would disagree with that knowledge is a steady accumulation of dedication. If leaders in the academic area need to step down every five years, there may be no enough time for them to realize their ideals and goals. Einstein has once said that success is one percent of inspiration and ninety-nine percent of aspiration. It gives ample evidence that his great theories are results of years of hard work.

Furthermore, in the business field, it's frequent to see a boss take office or step down. As the ultimate goal of a company is to earn the greatest revenue, it is vital and obvious that if a boss can lead the whole company to achieve that goal. If a boss is farsighted and competent, the employees will appreciate and likely to follow a ten-year or even fifty-year plan made by boss. Nevertheless, if a boss is reckless and selfish, five years will definitely be suffering for the employees.

In the final analysis, it is common and essential for people in power to take turns in political and business area, but whether five years is an appropriate time remains as a question. And for the educational field, changing leaders frequently may do harm to transmitting knowledge since that more time is needed on average for them.