An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Grounding on that farmers will earn more from the new millet, and synthesizing the hypothesis that people will accept the new millet, the statement accordingly suggests that government of Tagus should promote the new breed of millet in country as an effective way to help people combat vitamin A deficiency. However, to access the efficacy of this claim, several questions want answer.

To begin with, the author assumes that farmers will choose to grow on this new type of millet due to subsidies. In order to make this supposition compelling, we need to know exactly the thoughts from the farmers. Do they want to change to grow a new type of weed, if the premise is to pay a lot to learn and buy new machines before starting? What if they already have satisfied revenue from current plants they grow that subsides have no attraction at all? A poll should be taken on the farmers to see how many of them are willing to grow this new millet.

Furthermore, even if the farmers all are willing to plant this new millet, are their farms suitable for these plants? If every farmer decide to grow this millet instead of his or her original plants, who will then grow the other essential type of plants? People of the nation will be likely to suffer from more diseases if their foods come from single one source. Likewise, the lands will become less fecund and even damage the ecological cycle that normally dominates the place.

In addition, based on that people in Tagus are already familiar with millet, the author asserts that people will accept the new type of millet without any questions or concerns. This may be true. But unless more information about the new millet is provided, we cannot justifiably verify this assumption. Does the new millet taste the same as the original one? Are there any side effects after eating this new type of millet? Since it is an impoverished country, people may also want to know if there are other substitutions of this expensive approach to get more vitamins A.

In conclusion, in order to make the claim more convincing, the author needs to answers the questions mentioned above. Otherwise, government of Tagus will face other problems once they think they have solved the problem of vitamin A deficiency.