There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts — especially at a great cost in money and jobs — to save endangered animal or plant species.

Protecting animals and plants has been matter of concern over decades since people become more and more conscious about the relationship between human and environment. While some people think it is essential to save endangered species, the statement says that putting too much effort on it is of little justification. However, in my point of view, we should strike a balance between overdoing and doing nothing at all to reach the greatest benefit for all.

First of all, we human have the culpability of the environmental damage. For example, large scale of deforestation for economic reasons has caused many animals to lose their habitats, let alone hundreds and thousands of trees being cut down. Overfishing in some rivers and gulfs has drastically diminished the amount of water creatures. Species would not be endangered if the existence of human does not jeopardize on their living.

Moreover, when we see certain species are struggling to live, we feel our responsibilities from heart to give them a hand. What makes human different from other animals is that we care about and have empathy toward those in need. If we are capable of saving others, why don't we strive to do it? After all, we are members within the intricate interrelationship of the ecosystem. If certain species is endangered, it is likely to cause a devastated impact among a series of other species. As a result, we may put ourselves in danger too.

Some people draw disagreement upon this issue by expressing the view that there may be more urgent issue awaits for the government to deal with. Indeed, if we are facing a disease pandemic, people suffering from hunger or poor economic growth, allocation of the budget should be considered seriously. Other detractors may also say that species being endangered is a result of "natural selection". Given that Darwin's theory may be true, we cannot deny the fact that creatures living on the mother earth are closely bond together. No one knows which species will be the next to face extinction.

In conclusion, what amount of money and jobs should be placed on saving animals and plants should be evaluated carefully in various aspects. Government is better to get experts involved before making any decision on this issue.