"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Grounding on two surveys from the students and the alumnae, supposing that female-only education can improve morale and maintain support from the alumnae, the author accordingly argues that Grove College should preserve the tradition of all-female education. However, to access the efficacy of the argument, several questions want answer.

Citing the survey of the students, the author states that the majority of them agree to maintain the tradition. Nevertheless, is the survey conducted in a scientific way? Do the students enrolled representative of the whole? Do students really understand what they are deciding before expressing their opinion? Besides, why not take the survey of the faculty members seriously as well, since they are also a significant component of the school? While students come and go, some faculty members even devote to the school for their whole life. In order to decide this, reevaluation of both surveys from students and faculty about their comprehensiveness, authenticity and importance is required.

The author values the result of the survey from the alumnae just as they do to the survey of the students. Even if the support from the alumnae is indispensable to the school, it does not follow that the alumnae's preference can decide the future of the school. What if the alumnae's thought has already been out of date? Perhaps coeducation has been found recently that it can benefit the students more by including essential gender equity education. On the other hand, the author’s another claim which keeping all-female will improve morale seems to be a personal speculation. What’s worse, he or she is trying to pass the speculation off as an established fact.

In a nutshell, the argument seems to be convincing at first glance, but is likely to fall apart upon closer scrutiny. To enhance the argument, the author needs to answer the above questions. Otherwise, Grove College may ends up lacking attraction to students and even be forgotten by the new world.