The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the symphony became self-sustaining. Two years ago, the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have tripled and attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. Now that the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience, the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that as the symphony has succeded in finding an audience, the city should cease the funding provided to the Grandview Symphony.For this claim, it has given the reasons that the Symphony has hired a high-profile conductor and musicians to perform with it and the Symphony’s outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. Stated in this way the argument reveals examples of leap of faith, poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. The conclusion of the argument relies on the assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. So, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First,the argument readily assumes that the costs associated with hiring international conductor and high-profile guest musicians are moderate. This is a stretch. It is a possibility that the costs have risen drastically due to these eminent artists’ salary and the situation is alarming as it is deleterious to the economic situation. May be the Symphony is still in the incubation phase and arranging for such high profile artists to publicize the Symphony. If this is the case, there are chances that they aren’t fully self-sustaining and their budget is incumbent upon the funding from city. If they cease the funding, may be they won’t be able to pay the costs and become insolent. Second, the paragraph assumes that climbing private contributions are enough to compensate the increasing costs and they would come incessantly . As the money inflow has increased,this contribution are ample enough to bear all the expenses of the Symphony including payment of the artists, building costs, marketing costs, event costs, equipment costs.So the Symphony does not need any fund from the city. But if this is not the case , the contributions are actually a pittance compared to the costs of the Symphony, then stopping the fund would be detrimental to the growth and sustainance of the Symphony.

Finally, the argument has assumed that as the audience has risen, it means that there is indeed a prodigious increase in revenues . As the revenues has increased, the increased revenues are sufficient enough to make the Symphony self- sufficient. Here the definition of self-sustaining itself is unclear.Does getting an ample audience is enough to be self – sufficient or are there other factors on which the self-sufficiency is dependent. Just because audience has risen, doesn’t mean that are earning enough from them. May be they are doing it for free just to disseminate information about the Symphony and aren’t actually earning from it. There are no clear evidences regarding the revenues. Without cogent evidences, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantiate evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts.