The following appeared in a memo from the director of International student affairs at Darrington College.

"To better serve the international students being admitted to Darrington College, we should build a new cafeteria catering to the students at subsidized rates. The current cafeteria is vary old and serves only expensive items and dishes, a point that will surely deter future international students from applying to Darrington College. Building a new cafeteria will prevent this from happening and will certainly lead to a dramatic increase in the popularity of Darrington College. Moreover, a new cafeteria will help Darrington College to justify an increased budget for educational iprovement this year. Building a new cafeteria will therefore be a great step towards enhancing the ranking of Darrington College."

The memo from the director of International student affairs at Darrington college seems specious, specially due to the absence of explaination of current situation or past issues or evidences that led him to declare that provisioning cafeteria facility is the only way to improve college ranking. We need to evaluate the situation based on requisite information and specific evidence to analyse the validity of the predicted outcome.

Firstly, any college of higher learning is ranked not just by the quality of its cafeteria, but the research potential of the departments and faculties, student teacher ratio for teaching, future opportunities for the students or alumnus, value of knowledge provided by the subjects and vision oriented learning, etc. The condition of its cafeteria is judged much later by any student and is menial when it comes to prioritising its offerings. That is because the food offered by the cafeteria can be good or bad, expensive or cheap- the students can find other sources to satiate their needs. But the fees already paid by them for the college education, and future that entails is what the students will look forward to, rather than judge the college by its cafeteria.

Secondly, we need a lot of data regarding the needs of international students and past trends if we assume that all of the above regarding quality of education is already taken care of, which matters for enhancing its ranking. As in, what kind of food is expected by the students of different countries, or do they enjoy the vernacular food over their regular country food? Do the past trends showcase that the international students have been purchasing just the low priced food? What percent of international students visit the cafeteria on a regular basis, or if they do on irregular basis where do they prefer to eat? The current condition of the cafetera, as the memo specifies that its very old, and the pricing increments in the past for their menu items. We need to conduct a survey for the students, asking them these concerned objective and subjective questions, to analyse and validate inferences about the future steps to improve upon and avoid the cafeteria conditions to deter future international students. We need to understand the severity of improving upon or building a new cafeteria altogether on the basis of developed inferences to relate it with the supposed dramatic increase in the popularity of Darington college.

Lastly, we need to check if funds are available for such an operation, as the memo suggests that the cafeteria building will help justify an increased budget for educational improvement this year. This in relation with all the above to consider the priority of choosing cafeteria new building over other requirements- towards enhancing the ranking of the Darington college. Only then can we validate the predicted result that the popularity of the Darington college will thus improve leading to a dramatic increase in applications of international students, thus proving to be a great step towards enhancing the ranking of the Darington college.