The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The assumptions of the director of student housing at Buckingham College about building a number of new dormitories sounds illogically convincing for several reasons. The director ignored important information and some questions needed to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted results.

First, relies on the fact that the average rent for apartment in the town has risen in recent years, the director infers that student will tend more to live in dormitory. The author must answer this question whether the increasing the costs of rents relate all zones in the city. It is possible in the downtown the expense of the rent an apartment has decreased. In addition, the director must determine that whether the cost of living in dormitory is less than renting an apartment in the city. Without considering these possible scenarios, the director cannot justifiably conclude that student tend more to live in compass because of increasing the rent in out of university.

Second, relies on the fact that Buckingham’s enrollment in increasing now, it will double over the next five years. The director provides no assurance that this prediction is reliable. In fact, perhaps the number students, who enroll in the college, are increasing, while it cannot be continue in the next years.

In the third place, the soundness of the conclusion that more student will enroll in the Buckingham College because of new dormitory should be answered by the author. It is quite possible this college can not attract more students because of offering fewer funds than other colleges. Moreover, the college can attract more students by implement others suggestion like hiring to teacher, bringing new majors, or even many sport facilities, while these may need less money.

In sum, the argument is flawed rationally and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the director must provide statistical information about the cost of rent for an appartments and rate of increasing. In order to better evaluate the recommendation, we would know about all effective factors in attracting student to enroll in this college.