The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the director suggests Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories to serve the housing needs of students. To substantiate the recommendation, he/she makes assumptions by citing the current trends of enrollment and average rent. While the argument is well-intentioned, in the absence of some crucial evidence it is barely unpersuasive.

First, based on the current trends of student enrollment, the arguer infers that the number of students will double over the next 50 years. However, this might not be a case in that the inference might be problematic in two aspects. First of all, the argument provides only the growth speed of involvement at present; however, the arguer fails to provide any evidence to prove that growth is representative of that for the next 50 years. Perhaps the future grows otherwise. Besides, the deduced data concerns about the future problem, yet we are not informed of whether the existing dormitory space inadequate or redundant. Chances are that there are idle dormitories in the moment. In short, without sufficient evidence to rule out these possibilities, the director cannot substantiate that the housing space is inadequate over next 50 years.

Moreover, the argument treats a lack of evidence that students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing as constituting sufficient proof that they will not. He/she unfairly assumes that the rise of apartment rent must affect the students without taking the financial situation, scholarship, personal choice of students into consideration. Thus, lacking evidence ruling out this possibility, the conclusion of making students feeling difficult to afford is untenable.

Besides, the director states that the prospective students are more likely to be attracted by new dormitories. However, the assumption cannot be justified by lacking evidence proving students tend to choose a university based on the housing condition rather than the other important features such as the employment rates of graduates and the education quality. Therefore, the assumption cannot be assured unless providing those evidence.

In conclusion, the director’s conclusion is suspicious. To better evaluate the argument, all of the above-mentioned evidence is definitely needed. A wise decision is always based on careful scrutiny and concrete, convincing proof, not unclear, unwarranted assumptions and anticipations.