The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College."To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current

In the memo to the director of the student housing at Buckingham College, the issue of building new dormitories has been raised. It has been argued that such action has to be executed to house the growing enrollment of students as the trends suggests, increasing average rent in the town, and also the prospect of luring more students into the college on the pretext of attractive new dormitories. Though the claim may sound convincing, the argument is based on questionable premises and assumptions, lacks evidence, and based on the details provided, we cannot accept the argument as valid.

The primary flaw in the argument is the lack of any compelling evidence. "Growing trends", "rent in town risen in past years" are the phrases closest to justification in the entire claim. Not only is it flimsy reasoning, but also the deficit of justifying proofs and numbers makes the argument's conclusion uncertain. Numbers regarding trends of growing enrollment should be mentioned. Furthermore, to sew a more dependable argument, how the number of students is going to double in the next 50 years has be reasoned: the study which deduced this, being mentioned. Also, the evidence of rising apartment rent in the town has no evidence. It might very well be the case that the writers's belief about these trends has little or nothing to do with reality. Thus, the lack of proper evidence renders the argument invalid.

In addition, the author makes several unreasoned assumptions to further diminish the veracity of the argument. Although, the enrollment at the college is growing, it does not necessarily imply that a larger student community is looking for dormitories. Perhaps, it might be a usual practice to stay in town apartments due to the convenience. Rising rents in the town, in no way entails that the dormitories are any cheaper. It might very well be costly to stay in the college dorms than finding shelter outside college campus. Hence, these unjustified premises have to be well articulated to provide a persuasive argument.

Finally, the argument fails to take heed of all the background details, and the implications of building new dormitories. The fund for the construction, land acquirement, economic status of the Buckingham college have to be taken into consideration as well. these details are not anwe

In sum, the illogical argument of the author lacks sound footing. To convince the reader, he must largely rephrase his argument, provide evidence to his claims, justify his assumptions, and provide explication between building new dormitories and the college's profitability. Without rectification, he is likely to persuade a few people.