The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author's argument that the Buckingham's enrollment is growing and will double in next 5 decades, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham. This might appear logical and convincing at first glance. However, a more critical analysis of the justification provided by the author has highlighted many queries. Therefore, the premises in their current form are not cogent and are prevalent with unwarranted assumptions, that makes it more susceptible to attacks.

To begin with, the premise that Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Since, Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years prediction of Universities future trends based on current trends is seems logical. Since, it is always reasonable to be prepared for future needs. However, trends are not permanent and we cannot presage the future needs. The space utilized for hostels can be used for more significant requirements in the near future. Additionally, the author did not mention that the increase in admission is from local students or from the students who belong from places from which they cannot commute daily.

Secondly, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Nonetheless, the actual amount by which it has increased is not provided. For instance, the increment in rent is by 1$ per week and there is increment in rent by 20$ per week both are considered to increase in rent. Moreover, the increase in average rent represents all areas of the town or it happened only in vicinity of the university, depending on region students could rent in those areas where the increment is not significant.

Lastly, the point that new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll in Buckingham is not cogent. According to survey made in 2018 about the preferences of the students while taking admission in a university. They first look out for universities ranking in their opted field and how efficiently the Buckingham’s could give in making student self-sufficient to crack the placements.

To sum up, the author's argument is based on unsubstantiated presumptions. The author should have reinforced his argument with more evidence to make the case more convincing. However, the author failed to examine these issues that the trends consider will be same for next 50 years and the actual amount by which the average rent is increased, thereby rendering the argument indefensible.