The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The presented memo arguing for the need for new dormitories does not make a cogent case and has multiple assumptions that need clarification. The primary reason stated for building new dormitories is the increasing enrollment in Buckingham College. However, the presented argument assumes that the existing dormitories are being utilized at full capacity. If this is not the case, the new students can be accommodated in the extant dormitories itself, thereby eliminating the need for new dormitories.

Considering that the existing dormitories are not enough to accommodate the new students, one would need to construct new dormitories. The memo argues for building multiple new dormitories. Further, it is stated that the rate of enrollment is growing by approximately two percent every year. For making an informed choice, one needs to know how these two percent translate to the number of students. This is because two percent of 100 is only 20 students which might be accommodated by constructing new rooms in the existing dormitories. But two percent of 1000 is 200, which justifies the need for a new dormitory. In light of previous discussion, one needs to know the number of students enrolled to decide whether a new dormitory is needed. If yes, then how many dormitories are needed?

In the memo, it is argued that average rent for an apartment has increased which will make it difficult for students to find affordable housing. The rate of increase needs to be specified to support this argument. A mere 1 percent increase might not be a big deal but a 50% increase will surely make students worried about their housing.

At last, it is anticipated that new dormitories will likely results in more prospective students. While students might enjoy living in new dormitories, they might not consider dormitories an important criterion while selecting an educational institution. The stated argument requires to be justified by evidence, possibly a representative survey of students on what they consider important while selecting a college.

The arguments stated in the memo need more evidence like the number of new students, the utilization of existing dorms, the amount of increase in rent to make a persuasive case for increasing the number of dormitories in Buckingham College.