The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, 'Bargain Brand' breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices, and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success selling cereal, Bargain Brand should now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above stated article which appeared in the memo talks about the launch of the company’s first product - ‘Bargain Brand’. The director of the company mentions that the product that they launched attracted many customers and lead to drooping away from the top-selling brands because of the low prices of Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Although the top companies competed with this breakfast cereal but none of them succeeded because of the low prices in which the breakfast cereal was being sold. The company further mentions that they are thinking to expand their business and begin the marketing of the other products as soon as possible.

The “Bargain Brand” breakfast cereal was the company’s first launched product. The lower price attracted customers;but there is nowhere stated that the customers switched to the Bargain Brand breakfast cereal from the top-selling breakfast cereal companies. Also the director has not mentioned that the customers switched between the brands because of the product quality or the other essential nutrients which are present in this brands and not in the top-selling brand’s product. Along with this the product was launched a year ago and with such a stipulated time it cannot be concluded that the product the brand is selling is the best in the market with the affordable price . Also the statistics were not carried out about the reviews of the customers who consumed the product. Hence, considering the above factors it cannot be proven that the product is possible to all the customers.

Further, the director mentions that the top-selling brands tried to compete with their brand by lowering their brand prices, yet they were unable to reach the profit that this brand was achieving. This does not prove that the top-selling brands will not try to compete with them in the near future. Also the top-selling brands might be working on a plan to introduce the new product with lower price which Bargain Brand breakfast cereal is offering along with more nutrients to keep their customers . Since one year the Bargain Brand cereal did not find it necessary to hike the product price as they were already making profits with this price but the .Along with this the director also mentions that the company is trying to launch more products with the affordable price but it does not state that the future launched products will be as successful as breakfast cereal is.

Hence, taking all the above mentioned factors into consideration it cannot be proved that the above mentioned argument is true because the writer has not taken many factors into consideration that would strengthen the argument. So the writer need to check all the possible factors to support the argument.