A folk remedy for insomnia, the scent in lavender flowers, has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. During the second week, the volunteers discontinued their medication. As a result, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. This shows that over a short period of time lavender cures insomnia

The writer talks about the effectiveness of the scent in lavender flowers which is used to

cure the disease-chronic insomnia. The study that was carried out on the group of people and the

analysis was observed that to what extent lavender scent can cure chronic insomnia. Further, writer

mentions that the analysis which was carried out on people were medicated in the first week and

the medication was discontinued in the succeeding week. Thus, the writer mentions that lavender

scent can cure chronic insomnia in a shorter period of time.

As mentioned in the above scenario, the research was carried out on 30 volunteers who

faced chronic insomnia and their sleep was monitored. Here, writer has nowhere mentioned that

the people who were volunteered for chronic insomnia belonged to which age group. Further, the

writer fails to mention that these volunteers were working and had stress or were retired seniors.

The writer also fails to mention that all these volunteers were the resident in the same climatic

environment. Thus, the writer has not considered the possible factors which can lead to suffer

volunteers from chronic insomnia.

The writers has carried out the study research on 30 volunteers during the first week. The

volunteers which were being monitored were on medication and continued their medication for

the first week along with the lavender scent on the pillow. Firstly, the writer has not mentioned

that all volunteers which were being examined were on medication. As mentioned in the above

passage, the writer failed to discuss volunteer’s age group as a pivot factor. After continuing the

medication plus the lavender scent the volunteers were able to sleep soundly but felt tiredness

while waking up. Though lavender scent may be helpful for them to sleep soundly but it can be

because of the medication that would have caused the volunteers experience tiredness while

waking up. The research was continued for the second week too but without medication, the

volunteers experienced less sounded sleep and more tiredness while waking up. This can the reason

that the volunteers might have not been monitored in the same environment where they were

examined the preceding week. The environment in which they were kept might not be as soothing

as compared to the first week’s environment. The volunteers might be on medication for the

chronic insomnia and therefore not consuming the medicines might disturb their sleep. The

volunteers who were on medication might be addicted to the medicines and because of these

reasons they might have experienced less sounded sleep and more tiredness in the morning. Here,

the writer has not discussed about the how was controlled room environment and the type of

medication the volunteers were on.

Further, the writer has mentioned that the volunteers have responded well in the third week.

The writer has not discussed that this was because of the lavender therapy alone or lavender therapy

along with the medication that the volunteers were on. Furthermore, the writer has concluded that

lavender therapy is effective in a shorter period of time but today’s science is so advanced that if

lavender was the sole reason for the volunteers to cure from chronic insomnia then the scientist

would have made a significant use in the medicines for curing the chronic insomniac patients.

Hence, after looking at all the possible factors it weakens the argument because the writer

has not taken the significant factors into consideration that lavender scent is the reason for curing

of the chronic insomniac patients.