The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview: " In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, whi

The mayor of the city of Hill view claims that Auto Tech should be encouraged to build its automobile manufacturing plant in Hillview, as this will help in alleviating the problem of unemployment in the town.He further suggests that the landfill which has been undeveloped for decades is a perfect site for this plant. According to his memo, such a facility will provide employment to thousands of Hillview residents who were left unemployed after Computech abandoned its national facility last year.He also suggests that urging the City Council, to authorize a large campaign to attract Autotech and to offer significant tax incentives will make Hillview an apt choice for the car manufacturing company.

Though the message the author tries to convey in his memo is conspicuous, the way he goes about it is flawed.At first glance, the argument seems cogent and convincing, but on closer inspection, we find that it is facile and specious.

At the very outset, the Mayor needs to answer the questions pertaining to the development of the landfill as the perfect site for the plant.IS the landfill huge enough in terms of size to accommodate the land requirement of a behemoth car manufacturing unit?Is the land firm and strong enough to bear the weights of huge machinery that will be placed over it for assembling the cars; since it is a land filled area?Had the mayor presented substantive evidence, corroborating his claim that the landfill is the perfect site for the manufacturing plant, his argument would have been tenable.

Further, he needs to assess the skill set of the people of Hillview who are unemployed now.If they were earlier employed in a software development company, are they willing to unlearn and learn the prerequisites for the car manufacturing company? Moreover, does Autotech actually need thousands of people for its new facility?Nowadays most of the car manufacturing processes are automated, with minimal involvement of humans, so will the new venture, actually generate employment?So, how is Autotech going to alleviate the problem of unemployment?

To bolster his argument, the mayor should have given us more information about what exactly does Autotech look for when it wants to set up a new plant,This information would be paramount in evaluating his proposition of offering tax benefits to the company, and also help us analyse and understand the efficacy of investment in the large campaign to attract Autotech to Hillview. If Autotech emphasizes on ease of accessibility to domestic markets, or well-connectivity with the rest of the cities, or easy procurement of raw materials as factors that influence its choice of a plant site, only tax benefits may not be lucrative enough for it to set up a plant in Hillview.

Thus, though the Mayor tries his best to raise advocate for encouraging Autotech to choose Hill View for setting up its manufacturing unit, his argument is filled with unwarranted assumptions, and many questions need to be answered. There is no conclusive information in his memo to espouse his view that Autotech will alleviate the serious unemployment problem that is plaguing his town.