The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops. "Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

The author claims that a new hobby shop will be a success in southeastern Grilldon, because it is a profitable market: there is no competitors in the southeastern part of Grilldon, and a large number of citizen devoting their time to hobbies. However, the argument is unconvincing without answering questions below.

Firstly, a question which should be answered is that whether the southeastern Grilldon is a suitable place for running a new hobby shop. There is a great possibility that the transport system is not so convenience, thus the public seldom go there for entertainment. Apart form this, if the southeastern part is the industrial area of the city, then the environment around the shop will be polluted by surrounding factories, which may forestall the development of the hobby store.

Secondly, the author fails to provide the evidence of the answers from participants in the research are substantial for the whole citizen in Grilldon. If the researchers gleaned answers form those who live nearby southeastern Grilldon, then they would be more likely to give a warm welcome to stores for leisure, no matter what kinds of the shops. Furthermore, the number of residents in the research is unknown, which means that there would be a small proportion of the citizen taking part in the research. Besides, it is likely that the questionnaire were sent to those who might have certain hobbies in certain places, such as gyms, parks, and some hobby websites. In this case, we could not draw a conclusion that the hobby shop will be the next site for HobCo Hobby Shop.

Finally, another question is that whether the number of retirees who are willing to enjoy the service in hobby shop is substantial. Although Grilldon has a very large population of retired people, it might well happen that they are mainly in poverty, due to the undeveloped economy in Grilldon. Moreover, if the majority of adults in Grilldon seek jobs in developing regions and leave their children and parents in the city, then most retirees would have to take care of their grandchildren instead of devoting their time in hobbies.

To sum up, without considering the possible scenario above, the argument is unwarranted since the evidence does not lead strong support.