The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues here that the alpaca overcoat production will be resumed and this overcoat should sell very well.in the market. People are willing to pay higher price for this coat. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention many several keys on the basis it could be evaluated. In support of this expectations, the author noted that there are increasing demands from customers for this overcoat and the competitor stop production of this overcoat. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals tit provides little credible support to the recommendation. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes the interest in alpaca overcoat is still the same although its fashion is five years old. This is merely assumption build without much solid ground. For example, is there a new overcoat that was introduced during this period of 5 years? Why does this alpaca still have the same interest? The argument would have been convincing if it had stated about other coats that may pop up in the market and the advantage of alpaca overcoat to still have the same interest.

Secondly, the author expected that there will be increasing customer demand. This again is a weak and unsupported as it does not state that they already got demands during this period of five years. It would have been convincing to the reader, if the company implemented a normed survey to ask customers about their demands of the overcoat.

Finally, the author noted that the competitor stopped production of this overcoat. This raises skeptical question. Why the competitor stopped production of this overcoat? There may be many possibilities for stopping such as the revenue of this overcoat became very low. Another possibility, there has many modern and fashionable overcoat than that one. Without stating the actual reasons behind that, the reader is left with the impression of the recommendation of the author is a wishful thinking.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence. Perhaps by a way of detailed analysis for current market demands. To better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about the reason of stopping production of that product by the other competitors.